In September 2008 at the 32nd annual NEG-ECP (New England Governors and Eastern Canadian Premiers) Conference in Bar Harbour, Maine, the governors and premiers passed Resolution 32-6, “concerning the International Appalachian Trail.”

The resolution commits the states of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, Rhode Island and Massachusetts, and the provinces of Quebec, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland Labrador “to continue to work closely with the various organizations that are developing and maintaining these trails, in order to maximize their positive impact on our tourism industry and further promote the feeling of connectiveness that exist between our respective jurisdictions.”

(Left to right) Gov. Donald Carcieri, RI; Gov. Jodi Rell, CT; Premier Jean Charest, QC; Gov. Jim Douglas, VT; Gov. Deval Patrick, MA; Gov. John Baldacci, ME; Premier Shawn Graham, NB; Gov. John Lynch, NH; Premier Danny Williams, NL; Premier Rodney MacDonald, NS; and George Webster, Minister of the Environment, PEI, representing Premier Robert Ghiz at the 32nd Annual NEG-ECP Conference

Resolution 32-6

(Left to right) New Brunswick Premier Shawn Graham, IAT Founder Richard Anderson, AT Chief Operating Officer Steve Paradis, and Maine Governor John Baldacci